West Wessex




  1. The Chairman, Peter Collins, opened the meeting at 10.05am. He welcomed everyone in the room and thanked them for attending, with a special welcome to Maurice Brooks from the Council of Management.
  2. Absent Friends: Peter read out the names of members we had lost since last year – Ivor Lunn, Pam Humphreys, Colin Thompson and Valerie Snook – and a minute’s silence in remembrance was observed.
  3. The Secretary read out the formal notice convening the 44th Annual General Meeting.
  4. Apologies for absence had been received from: Sue & Chum Randall, Mike & Angie Toogood, Barry & Sue Smith, Robert & Ann Hartley, Kat & Royston Gallagher, Sue & Darren Eyres, Dennis & Jackie Waby, Peter & Maria Pond and Mike Humphreys.
  5. Minutes of 2017 AGM had already been circulated. They were proposed to be a true record by Alastair Bartlam, seconded by Valerie Hinxman and accepted.
  6. Matters arising from Minutes of 2017 AGM. There were no matters arising.
  7. Chairman’s Report: This had been already circulated. There were no comments or questions.
  8. Secretary’s Report: This had been already circulated. There were no comments or questions.
  9. Financial Report: A Report and Income and Expenditure Account for the year ending 31 July 2018 had been drawn up by the Treasurer and had been circulated. There were no comments or questions from members and Kevin Tuplin proposed they be accepted. That was seconded by Pat Wighton and carried.
  10. Election of Independent Accounts Examiner: the Treasurer had explained in her Report that it was necessary to appoint a new Examiner this year and given details of the person she was proposing to replace him, Mrs Debbie Ferguson. Her suitability for the job is explained in the Treasurer’s Report. Ray Golding proposed that the Treasurer’s nomination be accepted. This was seconded by Alastair Bartlam and carried.
  11. The Secretary has been in touch with the web-master Mrs Toni Waller, who is willing to continue with her work for us if we wish her to. As there was no-one offering to take on the role, her offer was gratefully accepted and a vote of thanks was supported by a round of applause for her skill, time and effort on our behalf. The Secretary commented that she thought the website was looking very fresh and attractive and that Toni would be glad to receive more comments and photos,
  12. The following Business Proposal was made from the Committee:

‘In consultation with the Council of Management, we propose to change statement 5.2 of the Supplementary Document to be thus: “The Group Committee shall comprise of no more than 12 (twelve) and no fewer than 5 (five) members.”  The current statement requires maximum 15, minimum 8. It is felt that this change will bring us in line with other Groups in the Club, and be a more realistic working number.’

Acceptance was proposed by Doug Rowberry, seconded by Jerry Dain and carried.

13. Election of Group Committee, by Poll: the members of the current Committee, with one exception, have agreed to stand again plus three fresh nominees introduced by the Chairman, Alastair Bartlam, Pam McCaughey and Maria Pond, who was not able to attend. The Secretary, Linda Rowberry is standing down this year. She was thanked by the Chairman for her hard work for the Club over the years. Members gave a round of applause and Linda was presented with flowers and chocolates. Dave and Wendy Bushell, from East Wessex group, had agreed to be Tellers and handed out Ballot Forms. Once counted by them and handed to Peter Collins, he declared that all of those nominated had been elected either unanimously or by majority.

      The duly elected committee is:

             Alastair Bartlam, Carole Collins, Peter Collins, Keith Curwain, Gill Horder,Dave McCaughey,

             Pam McCaughey, Derek Mills, Andy Mundy, Maria Pond and Veronica Trevett.

   14.  The new Committee met briefly during the coffee break, returning to announce the following positions:

Chairman: Peter Collins                        Vice-Chairman: Derek Mills

Secretary: Ali Bartlam                           Treasurer: Veronica Trevett

Rally Officer: Carole Collins                  Safety Officer: Andy Mundy

Scribe: Dave McCaughey

Committee Members: Gill Horder, Keith Curwain, Maria Pond, Pam McCaughey

 The meeting was declared closed at 10.50am.

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share via e-mail Print Share on Google Bookmarks